Member and Committee Information

Social Work Services Committee

21 Members


To oversee the strategic development and management of, and to exercise all functions in relation to: Social Work Services for children and families; Out of hours services; statutory Social Work mental health services, criminal justice services and the Community Justice Action Plan; Social Work Services comments and complaints; and Social Work Services professional learning and development.

To oversee the strategic development and management of, and to exercise all functions in relation to, services for vulnerable children and children in need across all services of the Council.

To lead corporate parenting in the Council in respect of children in care.

To oversee the development and implementation of the Council's child protection responsibilities and to receive regular reports from the Child Protection Committee.

Receive an annual report from the Chief Social Worker Officer on all of the statutory, governance and leadership functions of the role of the Chief Social Work Officer.

Receive reports from the Dumfries and Galloway Clinical and Care Governance Committee providing assurance regarding the quality and safety of services being delivered via the Integration Joint Board.

To advise and make recommendations to the Children Young People and Lifelong Learning Committee on: social work functions included in the Business Plan, including performance measures and targets; outcomes from performance monitoring and; budget and financial monitoring of social work functions as summarised at Appendix 4 of the Scheme of Administration and Delegation to Committees.

To recommend to Children Young People and Lifelong Learning Committee, Social Work Services key performance indicators, targets and projects to be monitored by Area Committees, in relation to the functions at paragraph 1 above.

Receive monitoring and performance reports on commissioned services.

Functions which, under statute, are not able to be delegated by a local authority as part of the joint working arrangements of the Integration Joint Board.

Formed: 22 May 2012

View Agendas and Minutes

Member Details
Mr Stephen Thompson (SNP) (Chairman)
Mr David McKie (SLab) (Vice-Chairman)
Mr Graham Bell (Cons)  
Mr Dougie Campbell (SNP)  
Mr John Campbell (SNP)  
Mr Ian Carruthers (Cons)  
Mrs Karen Carruthers (Cons)  
Mr Jim Dempster (SLab)  
Mr Andrew Giusti (Cons)  
Mr Iain Howie (Ind Group)  
Mr David Inglis (Cons)  
Mr David James (Cons)  
Ms Tracey Little (SNP)  
Ms Gail Macgregor (Cons)  
Mrs Jane Maitland (Ind Group)  
Mr Henry McClelland (SNP)  
Mrs Elaine Murray (SLab)  
Mr Ronnie Nicholson (SLab)  
Mr Tommy Sloan (SLab)  
Mr Ronnie Tait (Cons)  
Mr Andrew Wood (SNP)